12 Featured Speakers Join SXSW's 2015 Interactive Festival

posted by Laura Baker-Finch on September 08, 2014

Austin, Texas -- The Interactive component to the annual SXSW festival and conference has announced the addition of 12 featured speakers to its 2015 lineup.

IBM General Manager Sandy Carter, chef and founder of Momofuku David Chang, and Hugh Herr, the Head of Biomechatronics at the MIT Media Lab are among the recent additions. They'll be joined by Ari Horie from Women's Startup Lab, the creator of The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman of Skybound Entertainment, and Lawrence Lessig, founder of Mayday PAC. Scroll down for the full list of recently announced speakers along with their companies and positions. 

Today's 12 additions join the 10 featured speakers revealed in early August, including Intel's Genevieve Bell, Hyperloop's Dr. Patricia Galloway, and Nicole Glaros from TechStars. 

Through the SXSW PanelPicker process, festival organizers will announce more than 400 panel sessions for SXSW Interactive on Monday, October 20. The conference itself will take place March 13-17, 2015 before the music component begins March 17. 

Registration rates will increase this Friday, September 12 at 11:59pm CT, so register today to save $470 off the walk-up price. After you register, head on over to our Festival Guide to SXSW 2015, it's tailored to the music component but our Austin recommendations can be used all SXSW-long.

Recently Announced Speakers
Sandy Carter — IBM General Manager, Social Business Evangelist and author of Get Bold
David Chang — Chef and Founder of Momofuku
Hugh Herr — Head of Biomechatronics at the MIT Media Lab
Ari Horie — Founder of Women's Startup Lab and hit speaker at SXSW V2V
Robert Kirkman — Skybound Entertainment and creator of The Walking Dead
Lawrence Lessig — Founder of Mayday PAC and Professor at Harvard Law School
Sarah Lewis — Author of the best-selling book on creativity The Rise
Nilofer Merchant — Business innovator and best-selling author
Eric Ries — Founder of The Lean Startup movement
Reshma Saujani — Founder of Girls Who Code and author of Women Who Don't Wait in Line
Bryan Stevenson — Equal Justice Initiative Founder and Director and author of Just Mercy
Talithia Williams — Statistician and Associate Professor at Harvey Mudd College

Follow @laurajbf on Twitter

See Also:

SXSW Updates for 2015
Centerpiece Panel Announced for IMFCON 2014 in Austin
First Round Lineup Announced for CMJ 2014