New Music Tuesday: Maya Jane Coles, Pretty Lights, and Relient K

posted by Maressa Levy on July 02, 2013

Photo: Maya Jane Coles by Thomas Knights

While holiday weekends can be slow in terms of album releases, Maya Jane Coles, Pretty Lights, and Relient K all dropped albums full-length albums today, just in time for Fourth of July festivities.

Although UK-based DJ Maya Jane Coles has released a number of EPs, singles, and remixes, she released her first full-length album, Comfort, today. Also known as Nocturnal Sunshine and one half of the electronic dub duo She Is Danger, Coles was named one of Rolling Stones' "25 DJs That Rule the Earth" in 2012. Download Comfort from iTunes, Beatport, or Amazon, or stream it below on Spotify.

You can see Maya Jane Coles live this summer at Wavefront, T in the Park, Way Out West, Flow, Pukkelpop, and Bestival.

Electronic music artist Pretty Lights (aka Derek Vincent Smith) released his latest album A Color Map of the Sun today, his first full-length since his 2009 release Passing By Behind Your Eyes. As with all Pretty Lights albums, A Color Map of the Sun is available for a free download via his website, but you can also download the deluxe version via iTunes, featuring three bonus tracks. Stream the album below on Spotify.

See Pretty Lights live at All Good, Osheaga, Outside Lands, and Life Is Beautiful.

Last up is Relient K, whose album Collapsible Lung is their first album in four years, following their 2009 release Forget and Not Slow Down. While the band was originally Christian rock, they've managed to segue into the mainstream pop punk and rock scene. Download their album via iTunes and Amazon.

You can catch Relient K at various stops along the Vans Warped Tour this summer.

Follow Cultivora on Spotify

See Also:

Awsmac, Bad Boy Bill, and More Top Wavefront's Third Wave of Lineup Additions
Bestival Unveils Additional Acts
T in the Park Announces Lineup Additions for 20th Anniversary Fest