New Music Tuesday: Alt-J, Soundgarden, Josh Tillman (Father John Misty), NOFX, Sky Ferreira, and Shearwater

posted by Laura Baker-Finch on November 26, 2013

Photo: Alt-J at The Warner Sound Showcase at SXSW 2013 by Laura Baker-Finch

Get your hands on this week's new music, just in time for holiday travel.

Fan of "Fitzpleasure?" Then you'll love Alt-J's newest EP Summer Remix EP. The 6-song collection features three remixes of "Fitzpleasure" (by The Internet, Jim James, and Dave Sitek) plus remixes of "Dissolve Me," "Tessellate," and "Ms." Stream the EP below and check out their North American tour dates this December.

Soundgarden also released music this week, even though it may not be new. The Seattlites and Sub Pop alumns have combined their debut Screaming Life and paired it with bonus tracks from the Fopp EP and Sub Pop 200 compilation. This reissue is the first time these tracks will be available digitally. Stream Screaming Life / Fopp below via Spotify.

Resilient punk rockers NOFX released their new EP, Stoke Extinguisher today. The release features one new song in addition to four B-Sides from 2012's Self Entitled and a cover of "The Shortest Pier" by Tony Sly.

Stoke Extinguisher is available on CD and digitally via Fat Wreck Chords.

Sky Ferreira released the first B-sides to Night Time, My Time, which was released October 29 of this year. The tracks aren't yet on Spotify but can be purchased via Amazon. Ferreira also recently released a new video for "Night Time, My Time" by Grant Singer and herself. Watch it below or via Vevo.

Autin's Shearwater released Fellow Travelers today to much praise. The group, which began as a one-off collaboration between Okkervil River's Will Sheff and Kingfisher's Jonathan Meiburg, appears to still be going strong since their first release in 2001. Stream the new LP below via Spotify.

Josh Tillman has something for you to add to your shopping list this Black Friday. The Father John Misty frontman scored the forthcoming short film The History of Caves and Sub Pop will release it as an exclusive Black Friday LP limited to 2,000 copies worldwide. Scroll down for the track list, read up on Emma Tillman, and keep an eye out for the release at participating stores this Friday.

1. Finish Those Cigarettes & Go To Bed
2. News of The World
3. Alternate Title Score 777
4. Dial Tone
5. I Call it The Demon Tree
6. Of Course I Live With Them
7. Car Chase Theme
8. Dial Tone 2
9. Tender Is The Night in Paperback
10. Titles Theme For Boy Voices

Follow @laurajbf on Twitter

See Also:

SXSW Review: The Warner Sound Showcase with Alt-J, Flaming Lips, Surfer Blood, and More
Red Hot Chili Peppers, Soundgarden, and Arcade Fire for Lollapalooza Chile, Argentina, and Brazil
Top 10 Moments From Coachella 2013, Featuring Josh Tillman of Father John Misty